LCT 1: River Floodplains

The River Floodplains LCT contains the major rivers within the county and
their floodplains including the Rivers Arrow, Clun, Dore, Frome, Leadon, Lugg,
Monnow, Teme and Wye. The boundaries of the LCT are defined by the extent
of Flood Zone 3 along the major rivers, the extent of alluvial deposits, and the
extent of riverside meadows, particularly around the Lugg.


The map below will help you to explore the location of this landscape character type within Herefordshire. For more information on the landscape description, evaluation, guidelines and key characteristics, click here to view Chapter 7 of the report.

You may find it easier to explore the map by using the option to open the map in a new tab, this can be found below the map.

Click on the eye icon next to the layers in the list on the left to turn them on and off. Click on the features within the map to see more information about them.

River Wye at Bredwardine

River Wye at Bredwardine

View this map full screen in a new tab